Stone-Campbell Journal Conference
Stone Campbell Scholars Community
Stone Campbell International

Thirteen Study Groups Go Deep

11.02.2017 17:53 Age: 41 days
Category: General, SCJ Conference

Study groups give scholars the opportunity to join together to hear papers on a common subject of interest.  The leaders of each group may solicit papers and also receive paper inquiries from interested individuals.  However, they decide on the makeup of their 100-minute session themselves. This aspect of the SCJ conference has seen rapid expansion in the last few years.   Thirteen study groups are meeting for the conference this year.Forming a new study group is pretty simple.  Two individuals join together and solicit the study group dean with the title of their study group. .  The dean receives study group applications and also monitors and maintains communication with the group leaders.  The deadline for application is July 1  for the following year.  For the past three years, Jeff Miller (Milligan College) has served in this capacity.  The current dean is Dawn Gentry (Milligan College; dgentry@milligan.edu)

SCJ Conference currently has fourteen certified study groups.  Thirteen are meeting and have programs set for the 2017 SCJ conference.  These thirteen study groups include a total of 36 presentations.   The full information for each group is listed below.

TitleLeader (this name appears on adverstising)Co-Leader
1 Acts and the Early Church Judith Odor
Asbury Theological Seminary
judi.odor@asburyseminary.edu
Rob O'Lynn
Kentucky Christian University
ROLynn@kcu.edu
2017 Presentations

Rob O’Lynn
"Misplaced Identity? A Hypothetical Argument for Cornelius as the Centurion at the Cross in Luke 23:47"

Judith Odor
"Rhetoric, Theology, and Gentiles: How Acts 10 Creates the Shape of the Mission to the Gentiles"

Cletus Hull
Regent University

"The Compulsion of the Spirit in the Farewell Speech of Paul in Acts 20"

2

Biblical Teaching on Women

Jeff Miller
Milligan College
JDMiller@milligan.edu
Dawn Gentry
Milligan College
DGentry@milligan.edu

2017 Presentations

Conflicts with Second Temple Judaism group

John Nugent
JNugent@glcc.edu
Great Lakes Christian College

"The 'Weaker Sex' or a Weak Translation? Strengthening Our Interpretation of 1 Peter 3:7"

Amy Smith Carman
amysmithcarman@gmail.com

Texas Christian University

"The Abused Woman: A Feminist Interpretation of John 8"

3 Christian Education James Estep
Lincoln Christian University
JEstep@LincolnChristian.edu
Tim Westbrook
Harding University
TWestbrook@harding.edu
2017 presentations

Michael Young
Faulkner University
MYoung@faulkner.edu

"Ancient Christian Apps for Integrating Faith and Learning:  Silence and Meditation" 

Ross Cochran, Ph.D.
Harding University
cochran@harding.edu

"When Harvard Comes to Church:  Case Studies as Bible Curriculum"

Bill Thompson
Discovery Christian Church (Cocoa, Florida)
billth1983@outlook.com

"Charting a Course through Choppy Seas:  Challenges to Higher Education in the Independent Christian Churches"

4 Contemporary Issues in Intercultural Studies Kip Lines
Hope International University
KPLines@hiu.edu     
Not planning to participate in 2017
5 Jewish Scripture as Christian Scripture J. David Stark
Faulkner University
DStark@faulkner.edu
Paul Kissling
Lincoln Christian University
pkissling@lincolnchristian.edu    

2017 Presentations

Brad Haggard (bradhaggard@gmail.com)
Asbury Theological Seminary

"The Meaning and Function of כפר in Leviticus 16"

Laura Estes
St. Louis University
estesll@slu.edu

estesll@slu.edu
"Early Christian Interpretation of Daniel's Four Kingdoms"     

Tyler Stewart
Marquette University
tyler.a.stewart@gmail.com

"Abraham’s Faith and Israel’s Law: A study in the Contrasts between Galatians 3 and Romans 4"

6 Old Testament In Ancient Near-Eastern Context Jason Bembry
Emmanuel Christian Seminary
JABembry@milligan.edu
Adam Bean
Johns Hopkins University
adamlbean@gmail.com
2017 Presentations

Adam Bean
adamlbean@gmail.com

"Divine Identity Crises in Ancient Israel and the Near East"  

Jason A. Bembry
jabembry@milligan.edu

"Reconstructing Yahweh’s Chosen at the Spring of Harod: Hebrew and Greek Textual Witnesses to Gideon’s Army in Judg 7:5-6"
7Online Learning and Technology Carl Toney
Hope International University
CNToney@hiu.edu
Alicia Crumpton
Johnson University
ACrumpton@johnsonu.edu
2017 Presentations

Timothy Paul Westbrook
twestbrook@harding.edu
Jordan McDonald, Morgan Miller
(Co-Presenters) - Harding University

"An Investigation into the Implications of Dewey's 'Learning Situation' for Online Education"

Bruce Long, Mark Hahlen, Eddy Sanders, David White (Co-Presenters)
Dallas Christian College
blong@dallas.edu

"I"ve Never Heard of Ehud!  The Use of Affordable Learning Technology to Increase Student Learning"

J. David Stark
david@jdavidstark.com
Faulkner University

"Gaming the System: An Approach to Spiritual Formation in Online, Christian Higher Education"
8History and Theology of the Stone-Campbell Movement Jamey Gorman
Johnson University
JGorman@johnsonu.edu
2017 Presentations

Dyron Daughrity
dyron.daughrity@pepperdine.edu
Pepperdine University

"Martin Luther and Alexander Campbell: Seven Parallels"

Keith Stanglin
Austin Graduate School of Theology
stanglin@austingrad.edu

 

"A 'Theory Full of Sophistry': Alexander Campbell on Arminianism"

John Mark Hicks
Lipscomb University 
hicksjm@lipscomb.edu

"The Unfinished Business of the Protestant Reformation:  The Self-Understanding of the Stone-Campbell Movement in the 19th Century."

9Second Temple Judaism Jon Carman
Baylor University
Jon-Michael_Carman@baylor.edu
Amy Smith Carman
Brite Divinity School
AmyLaraCarman@gmail.com
2017 Presentations

Tommy Moehlman
Lincoln Christian Seminary 

"Reimagination and Reinterpretation: An Analysis of the Characterization of Jacob and Esau in Jubilees"

Amy Smith Carman 
Brite Divinity School

"Judith the Female Warrior" 

Jon-Michael Carman
Baylor University 

"Leviticus, The Book of the Watchers, and the Problem of 'Unclean Spirits.'" 

10Theological Anthropology Dennis Durst
Kentucky Christian University
Durst@KCU.edu
Steve Cone
Lincoln Christian University
SCone@LincolnChristian.edu

2017 Presentations

Justin Schwartz
"Chapter Three: Bernard Lonergan, Intellectual Conversion, and Authentic Love"

Virgil Warren
"Chapter Four: Disorder and Revolt: The Effects of Sin: Respondent"

Joe Gordon
"Chapter Five: The Graciousness of Being-There: Moral and Religious Conversion"

Dennis Durst
"Chapter Six: Value Ethics: Forming Moral Agents"

Steven D. Cone and R. J. Snell, Authentic Cosmopolitianism: Love, Sin, and Grace in the Christian University (Eugene, OR: Pickwick, 2013).  ISBN 978-1-61097-365-6.

Steve Cone
Lincoln Christian University 

Author Response to panel discussion

11Theological Reflection Joe Gordon
Marquette University
JoeGordon43@gmail.com
Stephen Lawson
Saint Louis University
LawsonSD@slu.edu
2017 Presentations

Stephen Waers
Manhattan Christian College

"Heavenly Visions and Eschatology in The Ascension of Isaiah." 

David Mahfood
Southern Methodist University

"Satisfaction and Universal Salvation: Eschatological Tensions in the Logic of Cur Deus Homo"

Andrew Sutherland
Duke Divinity School

"'Be Fruitful and Multiply': An Eschatological Perspective for Theological Anthropology"     

12 Peace and Social Justice Paul Axton
Forging Ploughshares (non-profit)
Paulv.axton@gmail.com
Jonathan Totty
Lincoln Christian University
jptotty@lincolnchristian.edu
2017 Presentations

Paul Axton
Forging Ploughshares

"The Depth of Violence: The Pervasiveness of the Problem"

Jonathan Totty
Lincoln Christian University

"The Non-Violent Epistemological Premise of the Declaration and Address”

13Philosophy Justin Schwartz
University of Toronto
justinaaronschwartz@gmail.com
Paul Axton
paulv.axton@gmail.com
2017 Presentations

Dr. Dennis L. Durst
durst@kcu.edu

"Ethical Considerations in the Use of Artificial Feeding in End-of-Life Care"

Derek Estes
derekestes8@gmail.com

derekestes8@gmail.com"Only on Strong Evidence!”: Knowledge of God in the Churches OF Christ"

Aaron Clayton
Lincoln Christian University
ac1986@gmail.com

"Merleau-Ponty and the Intersubjectivity of the Self"

14Patristics Mark Weedman
Johnson University
mweedman@johnsonu.edu
Ron Heine
Northwest Christian University
Rheine@nwc-u.edu
2017 Presentations

Mark Weedman
Johnson University.

"The Place of Patristics in the Stone-Campbell Movement" 

James Gorman
Johnson University 
 jgorman@johnsonu.edu

jgorman@johnsonu.edu"Historiography in/of the Stone-Campbell Movement"

"Patristics and the Stone-Campbell Movement: A Conversation in Honor of Paul Blowers"

David Kiger
Marquette University.
dwkiger@gmail.com  

"Early Theologies of Creation and the Stone-Campbell Movement" 

Paul Blowers
Emmanuel Christian Seminary
pmblowers@milligan.edu

"Response"   


 
Join Now
Volume 19 Issue 2

Current Issue:
VOLUME 19, No. 2
Fall 2016

William R. Baker
SCJ Editor 

James Sedlacek
Review Coordinator

Rachel Kitterman
Conference Registration & Subscription Manager
(513) 284-5835

Joni Sullivan Baker
Director of Development and Communications

Jeff Painter
Advertising Manager