Stone-Campbell Journal Conference
Stone Campbell Scholars Community
Stone Campbell International

Meet the Directors

Our newest director is Adam Bean, Visiting Assistant Professor of Biblical Studies with Emmanuel Christian Seminary at Milligan. Adam begins his first year as Director of the SCJ Graduate and Undergraduate divisions. He earned his Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University in Near Eastern Studies with a thesis titled "Local Cults and National Gods: Divine Identity in Iron Age Levantine Religion." He also holds an M.A. from Johns Hopkins University, an M.Div. from Emmanual School of Religion, and a B.A. from Johnson University. Adam entered the SCJ Student Paper Competition as a student in 2007, only the second year of the competition, He was a finalist as an undergraduate representing Johnson University for his paper "The Sword that Jesus Brought: A Blade of Division (Matthew 10:34)." In 2010 Adam was the winner of the graduate division representing Emmanuel Christian Seminary for his paper "Translating Qoheleth, Transforming Wisdom."

Lisa Barnett, Assistant Professor of American Religious History at Phillips Theological Seminary in Tulsa, OK, became Director of the Isaac Errett competition sponsored by the Disciples of Christ Historical Society last year in 2021 when she successfully directed the competition for the first time. Lisa earned her Ph.D. from Texas Christian University, a Th.M. and M.Div. from Brite Divinity School, and B.A. from the University of Central Oklahoma. Lisa entered and won the Isaac Errett Award in 2012 representing Brite Divinity School with her paper subsequently published in Stone-Campbell Journal 16.1 (Spring, 2013) titled: "Disturber of the Peace: The Life and Work of Elizabeth B. Grannis."

The SCJ Student Paper Competition was initiated in 2006 by Rick Cherok, then the Professor of History at Cincinnati Christian University (Currently, Professor of History, Ozark Christian University). Beginning with just one level of competition, the first winner was Anthony Rogers of Lubbock Christian University with a paper titled "The Raising of Lazarus as a Subverting Redaction of Plato's ‘Allegory of the Cave.'" Rick was succeeded 2011 by Les Hardin, Professor of History, Johnson University Florida, who led a successful era of leadership through 2021.

The Isaac Errett Stone-Campbell Restoration History Award was launched in 2009 by Doug Foster, President of Brite Divinity School, and Doug Foster, Professor of Church History (now Scholar in Residence) at Abilene Christian University. In that first year they awarded the SCJ Graduate Division winner Ethelene Bruce White, representing Harding School of Theology, with the Isaac Errett Award as well. Her paper was titled "Jane Campbell McKeever (1800-1871): A Biographical Sketch with Comparison to her Brother Alexander Campbell on the Issue of Slavery and Abolition." Since 2010 the Isaac Errett has been run as a separate competition always with the welcomed sponsorship from the Disciples of Christ Historical Society. Doug and Newell directed this competition through 2020.

Join Now
Volume 26 Issue 1

Current Issue:
VOLUME 26, No. 1
Spring 2023



William R. Baker
SCJ Editor 

James Sedlacek
Review Coordinator

Betsy Chastain
Conference Registration & Subscription Manager
(513) 284-5835

Joni Sullivan Baker
Director of Development and Communications

Jeff Painter
Conference Paper Coordinator & Copyeditor
Advertising Manager